Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking The Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week my "why aren't you out yet? can't wait to read" book is...

A Crimson Warning by Tasha Alexander

Available in hardcover 25 October 2011
Secrets prove deadly in this new novel featuring Lady Emily Hargreaves. Some very prominent people in London are waking up to find their doorsteps smeared with red paint, the precursor to the revelation of a dark secret – and worse – by someone who enjoys destroying lives.
Newly returned to her home in Mayfair, Lady Emily Hargreaves is looking forward to enjoying the delights of the season. The delights, that is, as defined by her own eccentricities—reading The Aeneid, waltzing with her dashing husband, and joining the Women’s Liberal Federation in the early stages of its campaign to win votes for women. But an audacious vandal disturbs the peace in the capitol city, splashing red paint on the neat edifices of the homes of London’s elite. This mark, impossible to hide, presages the revelation of scandalous secrets, driving the hapless victims into disgrace, despair and even death. Soon, all of London high society is living in fear of learning who will be the next target, and Lady Emily and her husband, Colin, favorite agent of the crown, must uncover the identity and reveal the motives of the twisted mind behind it all before another innocent life is lost.( From author's website)

This is the sixth Lady Emily book by Tasha Alexander. I admit I haven't finished the fourth and fifth books yet, but I only discovered the series towards the end of last year. I intend to have them done by the time this book is released. I love Emily and Tasha Alexander has created a London (and the world beyond) filled with fascinating yet believable characters. There is so much growth and progression for all of the characters in each book that you can't help but become invested in what will happen to them. 
This is a series that you will want to read in order. The first in the series is And Only to Deceive

Emily's desire to learn more about her late husband takes her to the quiet corridors of the British Museum, where, amid priceless ancient statues, she uncovers a dark, dangerous secret involving stolen artifacts from the Greco-Roman galleries. To complicate matters, she's juggling two very prominent and wealthy suitors, one of whose intentions may go beyond the marrying kind. Her search to solve the crime leads to surprising discoveries about the man she married and causes her to question the role in Victorian society to which she, as a woman, is relegated (from author's website)

If you get started on the series now you'll be ready to read A Crimson Warning when it comes out. You can go to Tasha Alexanders website HERE to read excepts of her books and learn more about Emily's world.

1 comment:

  1. What a nice blog. I'm your 100th follower. I really like the background. Come visit me over at Livre De Amour-Books of Love Blog.


I love hearing what you think! Please comment often and freely, just remember to be polite & respectful of others opinions. I always read comments and check out other blogs.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...