Tuesday, May 10, 2011

46 of 111 Bite Club by Rachel Caine

College student Claire Danvers discovers that an extreme sport pitting vampire against vampire--and sometimes vampire against human--is being broadcast on the internet from Morganville, Texas

This is book 10 in the Morganville Vampire series by Rachel Caine, and, as I said in my review of Dead Reckoning, that means that fans of the series pretty much know what to expect (in a good way).
What I like about the Morganville books is that they are consistently solid. While short, each book contains a shorter, always resolved story while also advancing the larger series plot. 
Bite Club follows the same pattern with one unique addition. We get snippits of Shane's thoughts during important scenes in the book.
Bite Club, like the Morganville Series as a whole, walks a fine line with it's characters. Every character holds the propensity for violence, and Shane more than most. This is the book where Shane lets all the violence and hatred buried inside him come out and it's dark. Letting us see what Shane's thinking is the only way we're able to forgive Shane at the end of the book. 
Shane is almost physically violent towards Claire on more than one occasion and is only stopped by Michael. What was interesting in this was how it was dealt with by the characters. Claire is forgiving to Shane (so is Michael, but less so I think) but at the end of the book, Shane does admit that the glamour used by Glory only made him do what was it was already in him to do. I'll be interested to see how this plays out in the next book and it'll be disappointing if there are no repercussions in Shane and Claire's relationship. I think Claire needs to become more critical of Shane's actions. 
In fact, Claire herself starts to acknowledge to herself that she can't really trust everyone as openly as she has in the past. She's been burned enough times to become a little more wary.
The Morganville Vampires is such a great series. I usually end up thinking about the book after I've finished it, and appreciating it more and more. While each book on it's own is a short adventure, the larger series as a whole is a unique critique of the nature of good and evil.
While each book has it's own mini plot, these books need to be read in order to appreciate them. The first book is Glass Houses, but the first two are packaged together as The Morganville Vampires.

Rating 4 out of 5

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love hearing what you think! Please comment often and freely, just remember to be polite & respectful of others opinions. I always read comments and check out other blogs.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...